COME OUT SWINGIN’

I had to read my De-BUNKING post again.  I meant what I wrote.  I still looked at it with a smile.  That’s one of those days where I just come out swinging.  My dad used to tell me that’s better than standing around crying like you don’t know your way home.   I think so, too.  Sometimes, we need to tell ourselves the truth, and very plainly; and, maybe others in our lives.  Or, they need to tell us.  We get our angles straightened out for a while.

I am very tired of seeing people misused by others for profit.  And, it’s hard to see people so desperate in their situation that  they are willing to believe anything, in the hope of some relief.

It is very helpful to be one’s own mindful observer.  Good family and friends are helpful, but the process of wise counsel and thoughtfulness begins in each one of us, alone.   To know good advice when we hear, or see, it, we must have it within us.  It’s already there, you just need to tap in.  Take a moment to get still, to step back from your emotions and watch, listen.   This is good practice for everyday living.  We do not always have to respond to the ‘rush’ around us.  When you begin to practice having your own pace, that’s one of the things that starts to sort itself out – whose time are you on?  When do you need to be on another’s timetable and when is it just not necessary.  What is really an emergency?  What is not?

Many years ago, I was training as an EMT.  One of the older paramedics gave me some great advice.  At the time, though, I thought it was impossible and it didn’t make sense, lol.  I was pretty young.  But, I did figure it out; he was right, and it has helped me ever since.  He told me to slow down inside my head.  To learn to observe, listen and control my own breathing.  He said, when you accomplish that, you will react more quickly, and when it is necessary.  Slow down to be faster?  Huh?   He was right.  When I learned to be calm, not only in the moments of crisis, but in my everyday life, I did notice that I thought and reacted more quickly without panic or fear.   I began to notice that it took something very real to hit the adrenaline button.  I was no longer as susceptible to other people’s emotional crises.

This is what happens to people – you and I kind of people.  We get emotional about pain, illness, other facets of our lives – we invest in that emotion without realizing our brains have left the situation that sparked the emotion, and are now just travelling on emotion.  We invest in being desperate, or feeling overwhelmed and we are susceptible to the schemes of others.  And, sometimes others mean well, they believe they have a cure.  We need to practice using those higher functions of reason.  Let emotion do its proper job.  Emotion is a messenger.  That’s its job.  To tell you, “pay attention”.  Then, it’s up to mind to tell brain, “think about this, what should happen next?”  The more you practice using your reasoning mind, the more you will rely on it when there’s less time to think, when there truly is an emergency.   The less your wallet will suffer, too!  Lol, that’s always nice.  Practical in all respects.

As Dad would say, “Well, you laid out the path to home; now, go there.”  Lol.  Have a great weekend, all.  BTW, check the blogs of the people who have responded here, there are some incredibly informative, uplifting, innovative, creative minds blogging these days.  Thank you for your comments and insights.  Thank you for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

